PRESENT

ABSENT

BETH DRUEKE Presiding Chairman	x	
CYNTHIA NOLAN Vice Chairman	x	
TODD BOETTCHER Treasurer	x	
PERRY DEKAY Secretary	x	
JIM BERNT Member		х
CINDY SCHROETLIN Member	x	
MICHAEL BROWN Superintendent	x	

The Board of Education of School District 08-0051 met in Regular Session on Monday, January 11, 2021. The roll was called by Chairperson Drueke at 7:00 p.m. with members Drueke, Boettcher, Nolan, Schroetlin, & Dekay present. Bernt absent. Superintendent Brown present. This meeting is being conducted in compliance with the NE Open Meetings Law 87.107 to 84.114. A copy of this law is posted in the meeting room.

Schroetlin moved, "To elect Beth Drueke Board President, Cindy Nolan Vice President, Perry DeKay Secretary, and Todd Boettcher as Treasurer," seconded by Nolan, including Committee Assignments as follows.

Committee Assignments:

Transportation/Facilities: Perry DeKay, Cindy Nolan, & James Bernt Budget: Beth Drueke, Perry DeKay, & Todd Boettcher Policy: James Bernt, Todd Boettcher, & Cindy Schroetlin Administrative Review: Beth Drueke, Cindy Nolan, & Cindy Schroetlin Negotiations: Cindy Schroetlin, Beth Drueke, & Cindy Nolan Curriculum/Americanization/Staff Relations: Cindy Schroetlin, Perry DeKay, & James Bernt RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Absent-1-Bernt. Carried 5-0-1.

Boettcher moved, "That the agenda for this meeting, all items of which were placed on it at least 24 hours prior to the meeting time, as provided by statute, be accepted as presented," seconded by Schroetlin. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Absent-1-Bernt. Carried 5-0-1.

Nolan moved "To excuse James Bernt from the Boyd County School Board Meeting," seconded by Boettcher. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Absent-1-Bernt. Carried 5-0-1.

Minutes of the December 14, 2020 Board Meeting December 28, 2020 Special Board Meeting were read. Schroetlin moved "To approve the minutes," seconded by Nolan. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Absent-1-Bernt. Carried 5-0-1.

Bernt arrived at 7:06 p.m.

Nolan moved, "To approve the financial reports (Activity Fund, Hot Lunch Fund, Financial Summary CDs, ICS, Depreciation Fund, Revenue Summary Sheet, QCPUF, Special Building, Employee Benefit, and CICF) of the Boyd County School district 08-0051," seconded by Boettcher. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Schroetlin moved "To approve the bills, claims, and transfers as presented for Boyd County School district 08-0051 on the General Fund (\$81,884.59), Activities Fund (\$1,363.98), School Lunch Fund (\$32,560.97) for a total of \$115,809.54," seconded by DeKay. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Principal Johnson reported on: 1) Elementary Staff Meeting Agenda; 2) Student Engagement Goal with ESU; 3) Acadience (DIBELS)/Intervention; 4) Math and Reading Standards; and 5) State Tests (NSCAS).

Principal Shoff reported on: 1) Staff In-service; 2) NSAA Winter Guidelines; and 3) NSAA Newsletter.

Superintendent Brown reported on: 1) NSAA guidance/Gym Attendance; and 2) Covid Dial Update.

Boettcher moved, "To approve Butte State Bank, Farmers State Bank, Nebraska State Bank of Bristow, and Nebraska State Bank of Lynch as depositories for the District" seconded by Schroetlin. RCV. Ayes-5. Nayes-0. Abstain-1-DeKay. Carried 5-0-1.

Nolan moved, "To approve KSB School Law and Perry, Guthery, Haase & Gessford law firms as authorized to provide the district with legal counsel" seconded by Bernt. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Boettcher moved, "To designate the Spencer Advocate and / or Butte Gazette as the District Newspaper of Record" seconded by Dekay. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Schroetlin moved "To approve the Employment Contracts for Business Manager, Head Food Service, and Head Maintenance/Transportation for the 2021-2022 school year," seconded by Nolan. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Nolan moved, "To approve the Employment Contract of the Technology Coordinator for the 2021-2022 school year as presented," seconded by Schroetlin. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

Schroetlin moved "To approve the hiring of Jessica Ciserella as Paraprofessional in the Spencer Building," seconded by Bernt. RCV. Ayes-6. Nayes-0. Carried 6-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:29 p.m. by Chairperson Drueke.

The agenda shall be available during normal business hours on the first Monday of the month. The next regular meeting will be held at 7:00 p.m. February 8, 2021. The meeting will be held at Spencer facility. Everyone is invited to attend.

Secretary,

Perry DeKay